2016 Master’s Thesis Grant Award Winners

The AAG Cartography Specialty Group is pleased to announce the winners of the Master’s Thesis Grant award:  Zihan Song, studying Map-based Visual Storytelling: An Assessment of Emerging Genres and Tropes, under the direction of Dr. Robert Roth at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Kristen Vincent, studying The Role of Cartographic Interface Complexity on Spatial Decision-Making, under the direction of Dr. Robert Roth at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Bill Limpisathian, for research on Towards ContrastBrewer: Evaluating visual contrast and hierarchy relations of cartographic features across multi-scale map displays, under the direction of Dr. Cynthia Brewer, Pennsylvania State University.
Each winner will receive $200 to be applied towards expenses relating to their thesis research.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

CSG Elections

The results of the CSG Board elections are in. Please join me in extending a warm welcome to our newly elected officers for this year: Alexander Savelyev (Vice Chair), Rui Li (Academic Director) and Amber Boll-Bosse (Student Director). In addition, Amy Rock, Stephanie Dietrick and Sarah Bell have each been elected for a second term. As part of the standard progression, Patrick Kennelly is our new Chair and I am now “Past Chair”. In addition, I would like to thank Tom Pingel for his dedicated service to the CSG. Tom is stepping down from his term as Past Chair after serving as Chair from 2013-2015.

The full slate of current officers, with contact information, is posted on the CSG website: https://aagcartography.wordpress.com/current-officers/

Please don’t hesitate to contact us with any questions, information or ideas related to the Cartography Specialty Group

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

CSG-sponsored sessions at the AAG

As you plan for the upcoming AAG meeting in San Francisco, we hope you will participate in one of the many sessions showcasing cartography-related research and applications. Here is a list of CSG-sponsored sessions for your reference.


Thanks to Amy Rock for helping to put this together.

Also, please find time to join us for the specialty group business meeting on Thursday, 11:50am, Union Square 3, Hilton 4F. Your participation is critical to the success of the CSG.

See you in San Francisco!

Barry Kronenfeld

Chair, AAG Cartography Specialty Group


Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Call for CSG Board Nominations

As Past Chair of the Cartography Specialty Group, I am seeking nominations for the following positions and terms of service. Email me directly (tpingel@niu.edu) with nominations or self-nominations before March 4, 2016. A specialty group election will be held shortly thereafter.

Open Positions:
Vice-Chair (2016-2017)
Academic Director (2016-2018)
Secretary / Treasurer (2016-2018)
Student Director (2016-2017)

The Vice-Chair requires a three year term of service, serving the first year as Vice-Chair, the second year as Chair, and the third year as Past Chair. The primary responsibility of the Vice-Chair is to organize CSG-sponsored sessions at the annual meetings and to assist the Chair in interacting with the AAG and managing the specialty group.

The Academic Director must be an employee of an institution of higher education at the time of their election. He or she is responsible for organizing and managing the CSG-sponsored student paper and illustrated paper competitions and coordinating other competitions jointly sponsored by CSG and other organizations. The Academic Director serves for two years.

The Secretary/Treasurer is responsible for keeping and submitting Board and Business Meeting minutes, keeping the group’s financial accounts, and submitting a report at the annual meeting. The Secretary/Treasurer serves for two years.

The Student Director serves a one year term and assists the Academic Director in managing the student illustrated paper competition, and brings student perspectives to the CSG Board.

Service to the cartography community is valuable and appreciated by the other members of the community. More information about position responsibilities is available on the group’s website (https://aagcartography.wordpress.com/officer-duties/). Additional questions may be emailed to me directly (tpingel@niu.edu).

Please consider nominating or self-nominating in order to help me put together a strong CSG election ballot. All eligible and willing nominees will appear on a ballot emailed to CSG members prior to the AAG Meeting.

Thank you for your participation!

Thomas Pingel
Northern Illinois University

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

2016 Ristow Prize

The 2016 essay competition for the Ristow Prize is now open for applicants. Full- or part-time undergraduate, graduate, or first-year postgraduate students attending any accredited college or university worldwide are eligible to submit papers. Submissions are due June 1, 2016, and should be sent to Dr. Evelyn Edson, 268 Springtree Lane, Scottsville, VA 24590, U.S.A. Visit the Washington Map Society home page: http://www.washmapsociety.org, and click on “Ristow Prize for details, or send inquiries to eedson@pvcc.edu.ristow prize flier 2016

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Cartography Specialty Group website launch

I am pleased to announce the launch of the new official website of the CSG, https://aagcartography.wordpress.com/. This website will contain up-to-date information on membership, student awards, officers, by-laws and past newsletters, and a blog on CSG activities and other cartography-related news.

The new website replaces the old site maintained for many years by Eugene Turner at CSU Northridge. I would personally like to thank Gene for his dedicated service well into retirement – his website has been an anchor for the community and a vital reference for CSG officers. I would also like to thank former Academic Director Rob Roth, his student Katie Kowalski, and Past Chair Tom Pingel for their efforts in making the new website a reality.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

The CSG selects Joel Radunzel as the winner of the 2015 Honors Student Paper Competition

The Cartography Specialty Group (CSG) of the Association of American Geographers is pleased to announce Joel Radunzel as the winner of the 2015 Honors Student Paper Competition for his paper entitled “Using the Right Tool: David Woodward’s Suggested Framework and the Study of Military Cartography”. His research in the Maxwell School at Syracuse University builds upon David Woodward’s cartographic framework in order to gain a deeper understanding of military mapping. His winning submission presented a case study using Woodward’s framework to examine the operational mapmaking conducted by the British military’s Egyptian Expeditionary Force (EEF) during the Gaza campaign of late 1917. Through his analysis of historical World War I maps, this work offers insights into current military cartography and the military’s extensive use of maps.

Mr. Radunzel also previously won a 2014 Cartography Specialty Group (CSG) Master’s Thesis Grant for his thesis proposal entitled “Position Mapping: Cartography, Intelligence, and the Third Battle of Gaza, 1917.”

The CSG Honors Student Paper Competition presents an opportunity to receive feedback on student research from leading scholars in the field of Cartography and Geovisualization. Participants receive a set of three reviews with comments provided to help improve the manuscript for publication. Finalists are encouraged to expand and refine their papers into full articles for consideration of publication in Cartographic Perspectives. Visit the CSG site for more information about the CSG Honors Student Paper Competition.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized